Mui Ne

After one of the bumpiest rides of my life I touch down in Mui Ne. I had booked accommodation in advance at Backpackers Village which was a short walked from where I was dropped off.

After a few heavy nights in Dalat paired with my phone being stolen I was tired and in an awful mood so decided to grab some dinner and head straight to bed. For the first time of the trip I didn’t have to climb onto a top bunk as all beds were single floor level, such a nice change.

The next morning I decided to book a tour of the sand dunes that the hostel organised. A small group of us were picked up in a jeep and taken firstly to Suoi Tien (Fairy Stream), don’t ask me why it’s called that but it stunk. We trekked bare foot through the sloshy barely there stream following the same path of those in front of us. There was no tour guide provided we were just told to be back in 1 hours time with no real clue what we were aiming to find along the way. After catching up the group in front we gathered that there was a Waterfall at the end of the path. Most of my group decided to head back but I thought I’d latch on and check it out. After a few trecious bridge crossings we reach what is meant to be the waterfall, which infact is a small dribble of water coming down over the rock face, no Niagara Falls to say the least. I made my way back to the jeep to meet the rest of my group.

We were then taken to the fishing beach, which again absolutely stunk but was incredibly pretty. We were there for only 10 minutes before we were taken firstly to the white sand dunes. When you first arrive you are bombarded with locals offering quad bikes, as fun as this looked especially going down the steep dunes it completely spoilt the look and feel of it. This place would be so much nicer with no quads and less people, still it was fun running down the dunes not actually getting very far quickly. The White sand dunes were followed by the red dunes, not as pretty but with an amazing sunset view over the beach which made up for it.

By the time we got back to the hostel early evening a well needed shower and food was in order. After dinner some of the hostel went to Dagon Bar where there was lounge seating/beds on the beach.

The next morning I had some time to relax before my bus to Ho Chi Minh City was due. I chilled in the pool with some of the guys I had met the night before and arranged my fake wedding to Greg from Brisbane so we could both get dual passports.. all jokes aside hopefully we bump into him in Oz and he can show us what it’s all about.

Eventually my bus showed and I was off again heading towards Saigon, my second to last stop in Vietnam.

Mui Ne was a slight disappointment for me, perhaps I didn’t explore enough or maybe as nice as the hostel was I stayed in some of the people there made it feel very clicky. It’s worth a stop but not somewhere I’d hang around for too long.

So it’s that time again for some city madness..bring on Ho Chi Minh City.

One thought on “Mui Ne

Leave a comment